PM interacts with economists and experts on the theme “Economic Policy – The Road Ahead”///Printing process for General Budget 2019-20 commences with Halwa Ceremony///West Bengal: BJP delegation visits Bhatpara in North 24 Parganas district////Government distributes free DD set to people living in border areas of Jammu and Kashmir////Speed up the establishment of AIIMS in Telugu States-VP///Dr Harsh Vardhan visits the hospital,Services back to normal after minor fire breaks out at RML////स्मृति ईरानी अमेठी से अपना रिश्ता करेंगी और मजबूत, बनाएंगी घर, गौरीगंज में देखी जमीन////India raises concerns over rising oil prices with Saudi Arabia////BSP MP remanded to 14-day judicial custody///सलमान खुर्शीद बोले-चुनाव में पीएम मोदी के नाम की सुनामी थी, हम बस किसी तरह जिंदा बच गए///
Home | Latest Articles | Latest Interviews |  Past Days News  | About Us | Our Group | Contact Us

Detailed Discussion Forum
Sadhvi Pragya win the election

BHOPAL The Bhopal Lok Sabha constituency was the centre of attraction in the Lok Sabha election in Madhya Pradesh, where the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Sadhvi Pragya win the election and defeated Digvijaya Singh of the Congress who rulled the state as chief minister long time.

Digvijaya Singh is the former chief minister of Madhya Pradesh. Thakur has got 8,62,950 votes in the constituency, considered a stronghold of the BJP, against her nearest rival Singh who has got 5,00,518 votes.

"People have shown faith in me. I thank them for reposing trust in me. It will be a victory of dharma (righteousness) over adharma (impiety)," Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur said in her brief interaction with mediapersons in Bhopal with her supporting shouting chants of "Jai Shree Ram" (victory to Lord Ram).

She had lauded Mahatma Gandhi's assassin Nathuram Godse as a "patriot", sparking furious a debate in the last lap of the seven-phase election. The Congress had alleged that "insulting martyrs is in the DNA" of the BJP, which had also condemned her remarks. Thakur later apologised for the statement.

Both these leaders were named as nominees by their respective parties under unusual situations. Digvijaya Singh was reportedly not willing to contest from Bhopal, a Lok Sabha seat that the Congress has not won in 30 years. The BJP has dominated this Lok Sabha seat in the city of lakes.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath announced Digvijaya Singh's name from Bhopal much before the official nomination by the Congress. Kamal Nath stated that Digvijaya, being a senior Congress leader, should contest from a seat that the party had not won for long and hence considered a tough constituency.

Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur became the BJP candidate after senior leaders of the party refused to contest against Digvijaya Singh. Bhopal went to polls on May 12, the second last phase of the Lok Sabha election. Another controversial candidate who has put up an impressive performance is SP's Azam Khan.
(updated on May 23rd, 2019