LK Advani, Hamid Ansari, Congress leaders pay tribute to Arun Jaitley///PM Modi, Abu Dhabi Crown Prince discuss ways to improve India-UAE trade, cultural ties////PM Modi releases postage stamps on Mahatma Gandhi in UAE//PM Modi pays emotional tribute to "dear friend" Jaitley//Union Home Minister presides over the Passing out Parade ///Piyush Goyal, conducts a high level review meeting with General Managers ///Draft Education Policy Encourages Philanthropic Institutions: Vice President///Situation in Kashmir not normal, says Rahul Gandhi after being sent back from Srinagar airport///म.प्र. के मुख्यमंत्री कमलनाथ ने अरुण जेटली को भावभीनी श्रद्धांजलि दी///
Home | Latest Articles | Latest Interviews |  Past Days News  | About Us | Our Group | Contact Us
No Proposal Before Centre
No Proposal Before Centre To Nationalise NLUs

NEW DELHI: "There is no proposal before the government to nationalize National Law Universities," said Minister of Communications and Electronics and Information Technology Ravi Shankar Prasad in reply to a question raised by Member of Parliament Maneka Gandhi, "whether the Government proposes to nationalize the National Law Universities (NLUs) and providing them the same status as accorded to other National Institutes."

To Ms Gandhi's query on whether the Government is proposing to provide uniform academic standards and centralized funding to reckon with the problems in the NLUs, Mr Prasad replied, "the management of NLUs is done by them and the academic curriculum and standards is decided by them in consultation with the Bar Council of India." Mr Prasad also holds the Law and Justice portfolio.

Maneka Gandhi also sought a reply to whether the Government is planning to undertake measures to provide adequate complaint mechanism in NLUs keeping in mind the constant strikes and protests.

There are 21 National Law Universities at Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal, Kolkata, Jodhpur, Raipur, Gandhinagar, Lucknow, Patiala, Patna, Kochi, Odisha, Ranchi, Guwahati, Vishakhapatnam, Thiruchirapalli, Mumbai, Nagpur, Aurangabad, Shimla and Jabalpur.(UPDATED ON JULY 24TH, 2019)