HAPPY 71 REPUBLIC DAY OF OUR COUNTRY (INDIA)//// PM interacts with recipients of Rashtriya Bal Puraskar, 2020///Republic Day chief guest Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro arrives on a four-day visit to India///प्रधानमंत्री ने जनजातीय अतिथियों, एनसीसी कैडेटों, एनएसएस स्वयंसेवकों और झांकी कलाकारों के साथ बातचीत की///Reaching out, taking education to the last mile – Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank'///वीर सुरेंद्र साई स्पेस इनोवेशन सेंटर के छात्रों ने केंद्रीय राज्यमंत्री डॉ. जितेंद्र सिंह से मुलाकात की///सीईसी सुनील अरोड़ा ने दक्षिण एशिया चुनाव प्रबंधन फोरम की अध्यक्षता की////Vice President describes corruption as canker and calls for a total war on corruption////Japanese Ambassador Mr Satoshi Suzuki calls on MoS DoNER Dr Jitendra Singh////
Home | Latest Articles | Latest Interviews |  Past Days News  | About Us | Our Group | Contact Us

Detailed Story
NDRF celebrates its 15th
NDRF celebrates its 15th Raising Day

NEW DELHI. The National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) celebrated its 15th Raising Day here today . The Union Minister of State for Home Affairs, Shri Nityanand Rai was the chief guest on this occasion and Shri G.V.V. Sarma, Member Secretary, NDMA was the Guest of Honor.

MoS, Shri Nityanad Rai while appreciating the role of the NDRF in saving the human lives and national property in disaster response operations said that Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister , Shri Amit shah have full faith in the NDRF and it has always been in the forefront to tackle any kind of disaster occurring in the country. The force has earned good name and fame nationally and internationally with its selfless service and unmatched professionalism in disaster management, he said.

While congratulating the Force on its 15th Raising Day, the Minister said that since its inception in 2006, NDRF has saved more than One lakh lives in its 3100 operations and rescued/evacuated over 6.7 lakh people during disasters.

He again said that PM, Shri Narendra Modi is proud of the service done by the NDRF to the nation and praised it for its role in the field of Disaster Management. The Minister said that this force has done commendable job in last few years to save the lives of people in distress by demonstrating high level of professionalism, determination and hard work by countering multiple challenges with bravery.

The Minister also suggested that following the PM, Shri Narendra Modi's directions, NDRF should work in coordination with State SDRFs and collect information of all the available resources and equipments near the disaster prone areas.

Speaking on the training and awareness programmes of the Force , Shri Nitayanad Rai said that NDRF has so far imparted training to more than 4000 volunteers and has a target to give training to more than 70000 volunteers by 2024 at the local levels in different parts of the country.

Member Secretary, NDMA, G.V.V. Sarma also appreciated hard work, sincerity and dedication of Force personnel and applauded its efforts in disaster risk reduction. He also emphasized on the capacity building with SDRFs and procuring the modern equipment and technology for disaster management.

Director General, NDRF S N Pradhan while complementing the NDRF for its role in saving the lives from disasters striking the country during last year, said that it is most visible face in the disaster management as it has always lived up to the expectations of people of the country over the years.(updated on JANUARY 19TH, 2020)